DNF Review: A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

24854259

Publisher: Egmont USA

Release Date: July 28 2015

Genre: Contemporary, YA

Rating: 2 stars

Goodreads Blurb:

A teen Sliding Doors. One choice creates parallel dual narratives in this romantic contemporary mystery-thriller perfect for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point.

One Night. Two Paths. Infinite Danger.

On the night of the big Spring Break party, Hadley “borrows” her boyfriend Ben’s car without telling him. As payback, he posts a naked picture of her online for the entire senior class to see.

Now Hadley has a choice: go back to the party and force Ben to delete the picture or raise the stakes and take his beloved car on a road trip as far away from their hometown of Oak Grove, Ohio, as she can get.

Chapters alternate to reveal each possible future as Hadley, her ex-boyfriend, Josh, and her best friends embark on a night of reckless adventure where old feelings are rekindled, friendships are tested, and secrets are uncovered that are so much worse than a scandalous photo.

My Review

Disclaimer: This ARC was provided by Egmont USA via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

I was expecting something dark and edgy and this book did not deliver.

tumblr_n63zn0l5Py1r9im9ao3_250

Basically, Hadley borrows her boyfriend’s car without telling him so he posts a naked picture of her on Facebook. Then Ben, the asshole boyfriend, calls her up and announces that he’ll take down the picture if she returns his car. At this point, the storyline diverges because Hadley (the main character) has two choices: return the car or steal it and go for a joy-ride. What’s a girl to do right? Well apparently we get to find out the pros and cons of each of these options because both of these possibilities are explored in alternating chapters. (Don’t bother asking me why this is the case because I have absolutely no clue..especially as it doesn’t really go anywhere!)

Then there’s the fact that the main character seriously pissed me off. I just did not get the skewed logic behind half of her decisions…and while she was all determined to do something, nothing actually happens. (I mean I don’t even understand why she thinks committing a crime is the best way to take revenge..and her naked photo is still floating around the internet! It’s like Hadley thinks avoiding her problems will make them go away.) I kept anticipating drama but got nothing. To be honest, her friends didn’t really interest me that much either.

So somewhere along the way, I decided not to finish this book. It wasn’t for me but if you’re interested, you should still give it a go!

Advertisements

One thought on “DNF Review: A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s