The Courtship Book Tag

The Courtship Book Tag I saw this tag at Thoughts and Afterthoughts and decided to give it a go!

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover

A good book cover is enough to make me read the blurb but I usually try not to buy books solely based on the cover (and most of the time, it doesn’t matter anyway because I buy on Kindle) …But I bought a hardcopy of Teardrop by Lauren Kate because the cover was pretty and I was in a hurry. It’s been half a year but I haven’t gotten around to finishing it..Lesson learned! 16070143

                                                                                                       

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary

18667779

[A love letter to the craft and romance of film and fate in front of—and behind—the camera from the award-winning author of Hold Still.

A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.

Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.]

The cover is nice but the summary is what interested me because (a) the book is clearly diverse, (b) it’s also different from the usual YA contemporaries, and (c) it seems to have an element of mystery. (I’m still reading this book and I’m loving it so far!)

                                                                                                       

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing

8490112

The writing is brilliant – BRILLIANT I tell you! I simply devoured this fantasy.

                                                                                                       

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series

12558285

I couldn’t not obsess over this book series after that amazing first book. Splintered fulfilled all my expectations and more. It is PERFECTION.

                                                                                                       

Phase 5 – Late night phone calls: A book that kept you up all night long

Books never keep me up all night. I’m very strict about getting 10 hours of sleep and all that…but there was that one series which managed to keep me up reading.

10

                                                                                                       

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book that you could not stop thinking about

24719666

The author published two or three chapters every week on Wattpad. As a result, I would constantly check my wattpad library for updates to the book. I don’t obsess over most books this way because the entire book is right there on my Kindle but The Dead List was still being written as I read it.

                                                                                                       

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book in which you love the way it feels

Unfortunately, I rarely get physical (with my books) these days because I read on my Kindle..but there was that library book I kept stroking.

12813630

                                                                                                       

Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents: A book in which you would recommend to your friends and family

11366397

This was an amazing book and I originally wrote it off as a cliche dystopian…but then I read the blurb and realized that this book would be anything but cliche.

                                                                                                       

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future

I rarely re-read books because there are so many books I want to read first. But if I were to re-read something, it would probably be the Kane Chronicles because I have hard copies of the books (and I’ve already re-read them three or four times now).18216364

                                                                                                       

Phase 10 – Share the love!!! Who would you like to tag?

Anyone who wants to do the tag! 😀 Have fun!

8 thoughts on “The Courtship Book Tag

    • Rachana says:

      Hi! Yea it was really fun 😀 I know what you mean – good covers have a way of hooking you. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  1. Aimee says:

    Oddly enough, I actually really dislike the Teardrop cover. xD I think Lauren’s other books have much more elegant covers. 🙂

    Splintered was AMAZING! It was so good that I bought Unhinged ASAP. Unfortunately, I got through one chapter of the latter before putting it on hold. 😦

    I loved The Program (and the sequel), too! Definitely would recommend it to any reader friends and family. ^_^

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Oh really? Ah well that is true. YESS, Splintered is amazing! Uh oh – why did you put Unhinged on hold?!
      I’m reading the sequel of the Program right now actually.
      Thanks for stopping by!! 😀 I’m a huge fan of your book blog.

      Like

      • Aimee says:

        I just wasn’t feeling up to it? D: I don’t know. A lot of people said that the second book was the weakest. Also I spoiled myself on the end of the series and I don’t like how it ends. 😦
        Aw, no problem, Rachana! Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Rachana says:

        Ohh, yea now I can I see why you didn’t finish it. I’ve given the second book 4 stars because I think it’s not as good as the first one. You welcome 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

