#WritersLife Tag

writerslife tag

I know I don’t talk too much about my writing life on this blog but I thought it might be fun to try this (especially since I’ve been avoiding my novel because I’ve come across one too many plot-holes). [Btw, I found this tag here!] So let’s do this!

Write Fuel: What do you eat/drink while writing?

Usually nothing because I can’t multitask.  I prefer to watch youtube or tv shows while I snack. Sometimes I do write while I eat because I’m feeling inspired (but it could be anything from fruit to cereal).

Write Sounds: What do you listen to while writing?

Nothing. I can’t focus okay! I’ve tried, so many times, to listen to music while I write but I just can’t. It prevents me from getting caught up in the scene and in first drafts, especially, I don’t like to be emotionally distant. I just try to get all the words out and music becomes a distraction. Sorry Charlie

tumblr_inline_nox4nw96nd1s6lw3t_500

Write Vice: What’s your most debilitating distraction?

TWITTER!!! I can’t resist tweeting to all the cool people…and forgetting to work on my WIP (which at this rate will never be finished)!

Write Horror: What’s the worst thing that’s ever happened to you while writing?

Umm nothing.. I guess I’ve lost a few hundred words (at-least) of my writing before thanks to my laptop or something crashing but it’s never been so bad that I will remember it forever.

Sorry-to-disappoint-Disappointing-Disappoint-GIFWrite Joy: What’s the best thing that’s ever happened while writing or how do you celebrate small victories?

I can’t think of a “best thing” so I’ll tell you how I celebrate…by telling my parents. And that’s it folks. Sometimes I tell my friends but mostly I just think about it and use it to boost my morale when I’m feeling down. I guess I’m hoping to do something a lot more dramatic like throw a party when I have a big victory and right now I’m just biding my time.

Write Crew: Who do you communicate with or not communicate with while writing? 

Well my friends are usually like.. you’re writing again? Like I ever stopped!? (Just kidding, I have a hiatus every few months.) So sometimes I communicate with my friends – mostly not about the writing I’m doing (don’t ask why!). I guess it just depends on my mood. I’m complicated like that. But it would really be great if I had writer friends, in real life, who I can hang out with and maybe even collaborate on something. (Soo I guess that means the gif below, doesn’t apply to me…but a girl can dream okay!)  tumblr_static_perks

Write Secret: What’s your writing secret to success or hidden flaw?

Writing secret?! Pfft. I’ll tell you guys once I get one but for now, I’ve found that getting my thoughts out usually works. Sometimes I find my story/novel/poetry/book/whatever taking a new turn when I do this because it’s kind-of like brainstorming. Most of the time, I end up with something I can work with and I wield the red pen with no mercy.

Write-spiration: What always makes you productive?

People talking about what they’re writing makes me want to write because I feel guilty (for not writing) and jealous (that they’re actually WRITING). Reading a really good book can also do the trick but those can be hard to come by when you’re a reviewer who criticizes 80% of what she reads. THERE IS NO PLEASURE READING PEOPLE. Just kidding! I always read for pleasure.

Write Peeve: What’s one thing writers do (or you do) that’s annoying?

I’m going to have to agree with the bloggers at Bookshelf Corner on this one. I’m always looking too far ahead into the publishing process and getting excited at the thought of querying and pitching and actually publishing my book…when I should be focused on writing and finishing the damn book!

Dean-is-annoyed

Write Words- Share one sentence from a project. Past or present.

“I don’t know how much time passed while I leaned against the wall, staring at the dead body of my best friend.” This line is from my current WIP: The Good, The Bad, The Inbetween. (Don’t worry, it’s not a spoiler..I think.)

I hope you guys enjoyed this tag! Feel free to comment below with links to tags you’ve done lately.  

12 thoughts on “#WritersLife Tag

    • Rachana says:

      LOL I’m glad you think so! I probably would have given up a long time ago if all the amazing writers and bloggers didn’t keep inspiring me 😀 YES DO IT!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. readwritelove28 says:

    Whoaaaa I didn’t know that you were writing a novel! If you don’t mind me asking- what’s it about? I’m currently co-writing a novel as well. 🙂 When I’m writing, I cannot listen to music either, so *high five!* Hahaha and I’m sure that this won’t be a surprise either, but TWITTER IS SUCH A DISTRACTION AND BLACK HOLE FOR ME!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      LOL well I’m kind of having writers block at the moment but I’ve been brainstorming some ideas that will hopefully help once I sit down to write. In answer to question, I’m still trying to figure the plot out right now because I’ve tweaked it a lot since I started working on it. Hopefully I’ll figure it out soon 😛 Good to hear! I thought it was just me who couldn’t focus with music. I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN! I can’t help checking twitter every five minutes 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather says:

    It’s always so interesting to learn what other people do with their writing habits. I myself have to listen to music while I write, usually. It helps me get in the zone, especially with instrumentals. Thanks for sharing into your little writing world! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Oh really? That’s interesting – I, personally, find music with lyrics a tad bit distracting. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

