Book Review: Endgame by C. J. Daugherty

25346611

Publisher: Bookouture

Release Date: June 4th 2015

Genre: YA, (Urban) Fantasy, Contemporary,

Rating: 4.5 stars

Goodreads Blurb:

Broken. Scattered. But not defeated.

The spy is gone but the cost has been high – the rebels at Cimmeria Academy have lost their leader and Carter West is missing. Nathaniel can taste victory. But Allie and the other survivors aren’t done yet. First they have to get Carter back. Then they plan to make Nathaniel pay.

One way or another – the game must end.

Endgame is the thrilling fifth and final book in the internationally bestselling Night School series.

My Review

Disclaimer: This book was provided by Bookouture via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

I read the first and/or second book in the Night School series a while ago so I felt a bit apprehensive about jumping straight into the fifth book. But I soon got sucked into the mystery and suspense I’ve come to associate with this series. It didn’t even matter that I’d forgotten quite a lot of the details because the book filled in the gaps in my knowledge.

 You’re missing out if you haven’t tried the Night School series and you love action. In fact, Endgame starts with a high speed car chase (during which I was freaking out). But there are also a lot of moments where Allie is asking herself what she wants or needs. Allie is a great female lead because she’s tough and brave but also..human. The author doesn’t let us forget that she’s just a teenage girl even though she’s handling the shock and loss so well. I even found her relatable even though I’ve never lost family members and friends to a war with another organisation.

There isn’t as much romance in this book as there in some of the other books in the series. I was only semi-disappointed because it did make sense to focus more on the fight between Nathaniel and Cimmeria. I also couldn’t make up my mind whether I wanted Allie to be with Sylvain or Carter (I was leaning more toward Sylvain) but it was nice to finally get some closure. The only thing I found frustrating was how she spent the entire series jumping between Carter and Sylvain – I know she was feeling conflicted but it seemed like she was playing both of them.

There’s this feeling you get when you drift back into a familiar series – like you’re home and that’s how I felt when I started reading Endgame. And to be honest, I’m feeling kind of speechless right now because I’m surprised the series is over. I enjoyed it so much and it was so nice to be reunited with my favorite characters for one last time (Nicole, Katie, Zoe, and Sylvain).

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Endgame by C. J. Daugherty

    • Rachana says:

      Unfortunately yes.. But don’t worry it kind of falls apart halfway through the book. I think you *might* be able to read Endgame without reading the rest of the books (there is info sprinkled throughout the book so you wouldn’t be totally confused) but I don’t recommend it. You won’t feel as invested in the outcome and you won’t know the characters that well (all of them demonstrate tons of growth throughout the series) if you don’t read the books leading up to Endgame. I hope you like it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

