Beautiful People :: September Edition

beautiful people

Beautiful People is a writing link-up hosted by Sky and Cait and it’s designed to help writers get to know their characters. Sooo this is awkard but I kind-of may have forgotten to participate in last month’s Beautiful People. I intended to publish a post in the second half of the month but after the first week of August, I was working on smaller projects (poetry and short-stories) and then school started….so I never ended up working on my WIP or the blog post.

But the motivational “you should write every day” posts I was reading this morning finally got through to me and here I am! In case you’re wondering, I have written five chapters or 10K words so far (which is the farthest I’ve ever gotten so I think the fact that I still want to finish this book is a good sign). Also, The Good, The Bad, The Inbetween (still haven’t found a better or shorter title) is written from the perspective of two characters (Sindhu and Sara) so this post is going to feature both of them.

Q&A

1. They’re in a crisis: who would they really like to see right now?

Probably each other. Sindhu and Sara have been through a lot of crazy shit together so I think that no matter what the nature of the crisis is, they’d want the other person to be there for them.

2. Are they easy to get along with?

To put it bluntly, Sara can be a bitch. She doesn’t try to be mean but she’s really blunt/outspoken and occassionally bossy. If you get on her good side, then she will stand up for you and be there for you and just be amazing to you (most of the time). But if you get on her bad side, she won’t hesitate to tell you how she feels. Sindhu is the easiest to get along with. She’s a people-pleaser and semi-shy/quiet around strangers. Sindhu always makes a concentrated effort to be nice.

3. Who was the last person they had a deep conversation with?

Right now..That would be each other. They play Truth or Dare and Sindhu ends up sharing some dirty secrets and agreeing to go to a gay bar (..I know, it’s getting pretty crazy.).

4. They’re in the middle of a huge crowd of people: how do they feel?

Sara doesn’t mind crowds but she finds it annoying when people invade her personal space. Sindhu, on the other hand, hates crowds. She’s a bit of an introvert so she doesn’t really like being surrounded by so many people.

5. Do they believe in luck or miracles?

Sindhu believes in luck and/or miracles…but Sara believes in making her own luck.

6. Do they like and get along with their neighbours?

Gah..I forgot about their neighbours! Well Sindhu doesn’t have neighbours because the flat next door is broken down and the owner hasn’t bothered getting it fixed (yet). Sara doesn’t really know or care about her neighbors. From my experience, most people living in a flat in Hong Kong, usually don’t care that much about their neighbours. I mean yes, we say hi in the elevator and exchange pleasantries but we don’t get up close and personal or spend time together. Obviously there are exceptions, but this has been my relationship with my neighbors in the seven-eight years I’ve lived in Hong Kong.

7. If they could travel anywhere in the world, where would they go?

Sara wants to go to the Maldives because something about beaches and resorts appeals to her. Sindhu wants to go to Italy. She doesn’t know why.

8. How do they feel about their body?

Sindhu is incredibly self-conscious. She can’t help over-analyzing herself no matter what she wears and she always nit-picks for flaws. Sara is a lot more confident because she exercises on the weekends and has a fit/toned body.

9. What is the cruellest thing someone has ever said to them? How did they react?

I don’t think I’ve gotten far enough into the book (yet) to answer this question – especially since Sara because she usually lets stuff just wash over her (she can be a bit self-centered). But in the first chapter, Sindhu remembers overhearing her mother implying that her best friend had suicide because he was gay. This is (so far) the cruellest thing she’s heard.

10. What’s the kindest thing someone has ever said to them? How did they react?

For Sindhu, it’s the moment when Sara tells her she forgives her and demands that Sindhu stop blaming herself for Shawn’s death/suicide. Sindhu reacts by saying she can’t move on. Once again, I’m not really sure about Sara. So far, the focus has been more on Sindhu because she is being abused by her mom and is trying to find her father (I still don’t know how she’s going to do that because the odds are pretty low, he’d be living in Hong Kong..).

So! What’s up? How is your writing going? And what do you think is the hardest part about writing? AND most importantly, if you have writing-related pinterest boards like “character inspiration” – please tell me! I WILL FOLLOW YOU. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Beautiful People :: September Edition

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Aw, don’t worry about forgetting. 😉 I forget myself sometimes, AND I HOST IT. OMG THE SHAME, CAIT, THE SHAME. haha. Omg congrats on 10K, too, by the way! 😀 I hope you keep going on with this story and it turns out awesomely. I loved reading about Sara and Sindhu (omg I love that name). 😀
    Thanks for joining in!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Hahaha well so far you’ve pulled through! Thank-you!! 😀 (I’m honestly surprised I got this far..but looks I’m going to finish it.) Aaw I’m glad you like the name 😛 I kind of wish my name was Sindhu but it’s incredibly popular (as in I have four relatives who are all named Sindhu..it can be a bit confusing..). Thanks for hosting it, I love writing link-ups and this one always makes me give my characters a little extra attention instead of just focusing on the plot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

