The Liebster Award

the liebster award

Thank-you to Skylee @ The Night Girl and Prima @ Panda Hearts Books for nominating me for the Liebster Award!

the rules…

  • Each nominee must have under 200 followers
  • Thank and link to the nominated blog
  • Answer their 10 questions and propose 10 new ones for your nominees
  • Nominate 10 blogs and tell them that they have been nominated
  • Write a post containing the questions
  • Include these rules in the post

Questions from Skylee & Answers from Me:

1. Tell me about your favourite book genre? or sub genres? Why is it your favourite?

My favorite book genre is Young Adult fiction because (..this might sound cliche but) it’s relatable. I’m a teenager and being able to connect to fictional teens who are experiencing the same things, makes me feel like I’m not alone. Many of the YA books I’ve read have also taught me a lot about things like mental illness and other “taboo” topics. My favorite subgenres are contemporary and fantasy. Depending on my mood, I will reading book from either of these genres. These days, I often avoid dystopia or paranormal books (unless there is tons of hype surrounding it or the book was recommended to me) because a lot of those books are becoming kind-of cliche.

2. Do you have any other passions? if so, what are they?

Not really… If I’m not studying or doing homework, I’m reading, writing or blogging (or watching tv). I write novels (or try to anyway), short-stories and poetry. Some of my poetry and prose can be found on my tumblr blog.

3. Favourite summer activity that isn’t reading?

I’m not sure if traveling counts but I am starting to enjoy it even more (although the jet lag is a pain in the ass).

How do you feel about gardening?

I’d rather not do it…My grand parents have a garden where they grow flowers, vegetables and even a (mango) tree..but I don’t think those gardening genes got passed on to me. I’m just not someone who really enjoys getting her hands dirty. I’ve gardened a couple of times during service projects at school trips but I didn’t enjoy it that much.

Do you believe in mermaids?

Maybe. I’m skeptical but I try to be open-minded.

What historical period of time do you think you would have liked to live in?

The Renaissance period because a bunch of amazing things were created.

Do you prefer stand alone books or trilogies or even series?

If I really like a book, I’ll wish there was an entire series or trilogy for me to read because I can fangirl even longer. But if I didn’t like the book, I want it to be a standalone so I don’t have to read the entire series to get all the answers. I guess I just can’t pick. These days I read more stand alones than series (or just read one or two books from a series) because it gives me more time to try books by other authors.

If you could choose a best friend from a book (e.g. what main characters best friend would you want to be your best friend) who would it be and from what book?

Simon from Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda. He’s really sweet and cute and I just couldn’t get enough of him! The entire time I read this book, I kept on wishing it was part of a series.

If you could acquire any type of skill in the world, what would it be?

By skill..do you mean like super powers? Okay I would probably want the power to read superfast (that sounds nerdy doesn’t it?). But I honestly can’t think of anything else.. I don’t want to read minds because I mean invading privacy. And I’m scared of heights so forget flying! (Comment down below and let me know what kind of skill or super power you want!)

Do you judge books by their covers?

ALL THE TIME! Sexy, gorgeous, amazing, eye-catching, fab-(okay you get the idea) covers are all it takes to get me to read the blurb…and honestly, when I’m scrolling through Top 10/20 lists and I don’t have time to read all those blurbs, I just click on the books that have great covers and add them on goodreads (I’m lazy like that). I know that isn’t totally fair but I’m a firm believer that if a book is good, it will find it’s way to me eventually.

Questions from Prima & Answers from Me:

How do you juggle your reading time with life?

So far it hasn’t been much of a struggle. I like to read in the “in-between” moments – when I’m waiting for the bus, right before/after class..you name it (you could find me reading in a grocery store). Sometimes I sacrifice reading time to get work done so that I’ll have time to read the next day or week.

Sell me your favourite book in a sentence. (Does this even count as a question?)

Angels, demons, and the people who hunt them..? (I know this is pretty bad but I honestly can’t think of something decent right now.. oh well)  (I’m describing the Shadowhunter Chronicles.)

Who is your all time book OTP?

Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments.

Do you have any bookish merchandise? If not, what would you like to have?

Nope. I really wish I did – I’d love to get some bookish jewellery (maybe some charms). I love those really pretty bookmarks as well even though I usually read on my Kindle.

Do you write reviews all in one go or bits over a few days?

I take a couple of days to edit and polish the review but I like to get all my thoughts out at once so that I don’t forget anything I’d want to include. Sometimes I can’t get my thoughts together and end up writing half a review one day and finishing it the next day.  

Which character would be your best friend and why?

Katy from the Lux series because she’s also a book blogger and I would have so much fangirling over books with her.

What book would you love to see as a movie/tv show?

I would say City of Bones…but we crossed that bridge a while ago and oh gosh, the movie was pretty awful. So instead I’m going to say the Lux series.

Why did you decide to start a book blog?

I’d made a few blogs before but I would just post these random things like my top 10 favorite nail polish colors (even though I’m not that interested in nail polish).. I would get bored after a week or two of trying to brainstorm content and give up (but those blogs were actually really bad so whew!). Anyway, a year ago my best friend, Jessica, “introduced” me to the concept of book blogging when she started a book blog. I did some “research” and decided to make a blog (I never dreamed it would go on for this long.)

Which book do you wish you have right now?

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby. I’ve heard so many good things about it.

Who is your least favourite character of all time and why?

I don’t really have one..I even admire the villains (extra points if they’re smart and hot).

Besides reading, what is your other obsession?

Writing. I’ve always had a passion for writing but sometimes I can’t find time to do both.

10 Questions for Nominees:

1. What is your favorite part of being a (book) blogger?

2. What are some book tropes that you hate and/or love?

3. Do you guys have any blogging or writing rituals?

4. What are some bookish turn-ons?

5. Of the top of your head, what are your top ten favorite (main or minor) characters?

6. What is your dream job (or if you already have it, what else do you think you would enjoy doing or what is your job and why do you love it so much)?

7. What are your hobbies – apart from reading?

8. Do you back up (all) your blog posts and images?…Do you back up anything?

9. How do you stay organized and/or do you have a blogging schedule?

10. Who are your book boyfriends?

My Nominations:

  1. Writing on a Vintage Typewriter
  2. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader
  3. Rebecca @ RebeccaBookReview
  4. Eviline Lunette @ Adventuring Through Pages
  5. Michelle @ The Unfinished Bookshelf
  6. Kimberly @ Over The Bookshelf
  7. Poulami @ Daydreaming Books
I know that’s less than 10 but I wasn’t sure who else to nominate (I’m so bad at this!) And I apologize in advance if you guys have already been nominated for this award. (Also I’m not 100% sure if you guys have less than 200 followers..) Feel free to comment with a link to your post or say hi on twitter! I look forward to reading your posts! 
11 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Romi says:

    Congratulations on your Liebster award, Rachana! You answered the questsion awesomely (which is, I assure you, totally a word)! Simon would be an adorable, fantastic, true-speaking best friend, even if sometimes his actions might be hurtful (I can totally get why his friend was hurt that she was excluded, I don’t think he dealt with that well)- but he’s just so awesome. It could also, that book, be known as “Simon is awesome and does awesome things. And adorable.”
    Having the power to read minds would NOT be something I’d want, either. I imagine it’d get me into more strife than good situations, although I’d probably get a really high paying Government job! My super power would be to speak to animals, or have some universal language at my disposal. I’d love that. Am terrified of heights, also, but flying would be kinda fantastic.
    Villains can be so fantastic! Like, I adore Maleficent. Count Olaf is a favourite, and… well, just because they’re villains doesn’t mean they’re immediately knocked off as being important. Far from it! They can be likable or interesting. Although I hate Umbridge with a passion.
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank-you! LOL yes hahahah Ooh universal language. Yes that’s a good one! I wish I wasn’t so scared of heights! I love the “idea” of having flying powers but reality is I’d probably not use them anyway 😛 Yeah Umbridge is reallyy awful.

      Like

  2. Prima says:

    The horribleness of the City of Bones movie is why I’m so cautiously excited for the TV show coming out next year. But they can’t screw it up twice right >.<

    I'm totally guilty of judging books by their covers too! I only bought Ten Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey because the cover was stunning. I hadn't even heard about it till the day I bought it. And yes smart and hot villains are the best XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Well I sure hope not! I was actually so excited about the City of Bones movie..I guess I was willing to overlook the flaws but a month or two later it started to wear off and I realized just how bad it was.
      Lol but most of the time, I also read the reviews because 80% of the time I buy books based on covers, it turns out that they’re kind of bad (but have an amaazing cover). Hahah *HIGH FIVE*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

