Snazzy Snippets | NaNoWriMo Edition

snazzy snippets

Snazzy Snippets is an awesome bimonthly link-up for writers. It’s hosted by Emily @ Loony Literate and Alyssa @ The Devil Orders Takeout. It’s a great opportunity to share snippets of your writing (500 words or less).

This month I am participating in NaNoWriMo (find out more about my novel here). I have written about 11,000 words so far and the pinterest board will hopefully keep me from running out of inspiration! Without further ado, I am going to go ahead and share snippets from my WIP: Vivid. 

A snippet without dialogue

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 8.16.42 pm

A snippet featuring a friend/family member

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 8.25.28 pm

A snippet that took FOREVER to write

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 8.38.13 pm

I admit these snippets are very rough indeed (but my first drafts are very messy) so I hope you guys enjoyed reading these snippets anyway. Now time for a bit of context! 

The first snippet is from the start of chapter 1 and sort-of describes a dream Radha has about her girlfriend. I’m was intentionally vague when I wrote it but now I’m not sure whether I should flesh it out more. The second snippet is from the end of the first chapter – my main character, Radha, isn’t feeling so great and she feels like her sister is very annoying (and later, insensitive).  I didn’t really know what to do for the last snippet because the words have come to me pretty easily this first week..so I ended up picking the snippet that took (comparatively) longer to write. It took me awhile because I wasn’t sure whether to “expose Damien and Ming’s relationship or have him tell her. For the sake of conflict (and to prevent me from falling asleep while editing), I ended up having Radha walk in on their make out session. 

You can add me as a writing buddy here & check out my pinterest board here

So are you participating in NaNoWriMo? And if so, how is that going for you? Tell me about your WIPs (is progress slow)? And well, how was your day??

9 thoughts on “Snazzy Snippets | NaNoWriMo Edition

    • Rachana says:

      Hey Julia Anne! Thank you ❤ I've just began regretting my decision to participate because as you said SCHOOL.. sigh but I managed to write 10 chapters of my novel so I guess that's something 😛 I hope your story is coming along well. Will you be sharing snippets too?

      Like

    • Rachana says:

      I’ve been messing around with the format a lot in this book because I like to experiment so thanks for the feedback – I’ll keep it in mine when I’m editing. LOL I’m glad you found the 3rd snippet funny! Thanks for hosting the linkup!

      Like

Leave a Reply

