Beautiful Books #3 // The Editing Process

It’s been a month since I last posted (I was trying to focus more on schoolwork) and I didn’t think I would post today. But (a) I love this linkup and (b) winter break is here which means I have more time to do the things I love. I only managed to write 17,000 words for NaNoWriMo (1,000 more than I wrote last year). This time, I stopped working on my project, a week into November because homework! and projects! and maybe even procrastination! Also, I’d just become really obsessed with poetry and was spending most if not all of my free time on it. (By the way, I happen to have a poetry blog!)  Anyway, I put Vivid aside for longer than I intended to but I am hoping to write another five or six chapters during winter break! 

Oh and  Beautiful Books is a writing link-up that focuses on your NaNoWriMo novel or another WIP you would prefer to talk about. 

beautiful books

On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best), how did the book turn out? Did anything defy your expectations?

7. I didn’t expect to get any writing done because I’ve always had trouble starting projects. (And finishing them..but that’s pretty obvious considering I am yet to finish any of the books I’ve started.) I suppose I was secretly hoping that this time everything would actually come together this time and I’d write a book in a month. But all the same, I’m glad I tried. (And who knows, maybe I’ll finish this one.)

Comparative title time: what published books, movies, or TV shows are like your book? (Ex: Inkheart meets X-Men.)

Well Vivid was inspired by The Weight of Feathers but it’s not really anything like it (apart from the fact that they both belong in the magical realism genre.) This is also the part where I admit that I have no idea what to compare my book to… (Sorry about that!) 

Do you enjoy working with deadlines and pressure (aka NaNoWriMo)? Or do you prefer to write-as-you’re-inspired?

I definitely think I’m a write-as-I’m-inspired type of person because deadlines and pressure combined aren’t enough to ensure my commitment. I mean when I started out in November, I was really excited but a week in, I was already feeling burned out (and I was actually ahead of the daily word count goal!). But deadlines do motivate me for things like short-stories or poetry because I know I can finish them in a week maximum – all I have to do is put in the time and effort. And NanoWriMo is also the reason why I’ve kept trying to write a book. 

What aspect of your story needs the most work?

Probably the plot. I’m trying to keep it interesting while not being too unrealistic but I feel like there’s so much happening. When I’ve finally finished it, I think I’m going to have to cut out a lot of scenes or move them around so I’m not overloading the reader with too much information.

What aspect of your story did you love the most?

I love my characters – they are honestly the reason why I stuck with Vivid so far. Whenever I’m not sure what should happen next, I ask myself what would Radha do in this type of situation and play out different scenarios in my head until something clicks. 

Give us a brief run down on your main characters and how you think they turned out. Do you think they’ll need changes in edits?

The main character is Radha and she’s struggling with anxiety and depression. She’s an artist, loves swimming in the ocean, and her “power” is manipulating water. Her adopted sister, Sathya, has chromesthesia, is reckless and impulsive and loves playing the piano. Their friends are Damien, Sarah and Ming. Damien is a warlock with hands made of cinders (he can create fire). Sarah is also a warlock; she has eyes that bleed gold and can conjure blue smoke. Ming is a mermaid who can’t stay out of water for longer than 24 hours. 

At the moment, I really like my characters the way they are but if I need to, I’ll make changes.

What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

Once I finish editing, I’ll put it away for awhile then do more edits. Then hopefully I’ll be able to find some beta readers and get some feedback. After doing that first round of edits, I might post it on Wattpad

Share a favourite snippet!

Screen Shot 2015-12-15 at 3.40.10 pm

(Oh and I know this needs a lot of editing but I’m not going to edit until I’ve written the whole thing so that I don’t waste my time on scenes I might pull out later.) 

This is the scene I found the most interesting to write (I don’t really have a “favorite snippet” yet!) because I feel like Radha and the “mystery girl’s” roles could have been reversed if Radha didn’t have the kind of friends who really looked out for her. 

What are your writing goals and plans for 2016?

I was planning on making a “Writing Wishlist” type of blog post but lately I’ve been avoiding thinking about my goals for 2016. I didn’t accomplish any of the ones I set for myself last year because I ended up ditching those projects (and starting new ones), falling in love with poetry, making a new blog…and you get the idea. Nothing went as planned which is a good thing in this case because I’ve actually learned/grown a lot.. but next year, I really want to do things.

To answer the question, there’s quite a few retellings I want to write and I’m hoping to put together a small chapbook, maybe publish a few short stories.. but that’s all the details I will be providing today.

So! How did NaNoWriMo go for you? What are your writing goals? Have you started editing your WIP yet? Oh and do you have any exciting plans for the holidays?

One thought on “Beautiful Books #3 // The Editing Process

Leave a Reply

