poetry | mistake

the word ‘mistake’ hangs in the air between us
i take a permanent marker & scrawl
‘sorry’ on the floorboards
come home & slip on soapsuds
(you spent the entire morning 
scrubbing away at my apologies) ;
so I bleach the walls 
stark white:
a color that drowns out the sound of my crying;
next week, i will teach myself to forget
(not forgive) 
watch you split open my skin
& carve out the parts of me
you hate;
knife sawing away at everything that makes me 
a (human) mistake.

 


 

It’s been a few months since I published this post promising to share more writing on here and today I’ve finally delivered. I’m really sorry I made you guys wait this long. If you’re interested in reading more poetry, feel free to check out my poetry blog!

7 thoughts on “poetry | mistake

  1. Alyssa @ The Devil Orders Takeout says:

    *silently dying* thisjustthisican’tevenican’teven

    forget (not forgive) is basically my favourite favourite favourite line here. I just love the entire imagery, the voice, the rhythm — although that last line confuses me. Because both human and mistake ought to be preceded by ‘a’, but you chose ‘an’?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you! ❤ And I think 'an' was a "mistake" (that was a really bad joke but thanks for pointing the mistake out! I thought I'd fixed everything haha)

      Like

Leave a Reply

