poetry | metamorphosis

I WANT TO LEAVE;

I brush my teeth & spit 
sawdust on marble floors
ash coating the slick bones of
a body that refuses to stop contracting;

I’M TIRED OF SHRINKING;

Emptying water into the sink
clutching the door knob
clutching the steel rod
clutching the – 

BUT THE PHONE IS RINGING;

Blood tastes like rust –
the color of failure dripping 
on my fingers & down the drain 

THE PHONE IS STILL RINGING;

Collapse (like the fall of an empire)
there is a monster in my ribcage
(she’s held her breath for far too long) 
hammers a nail into my forehead
(snarling for freedom)
the ground shifts beneath my feet

THIS IS METAMORPHOSIS;

Dragging my body through 
the dirt coating the sides of the
bathtub, leaving fingerprints on the 
white walls, air sucked from my lungs

THE PHONE IS STILL RINGING;

A SCREAM builds in my chest 

LEAVE ME ALONE;
CAN’T YOU SEE I’M BUSY?


If you’re interested in reading more poetry, feel free to check out my poetry blog on tumblr! 

9 thoughts on “poetry | metamorphosis

  1. Chiara says:

    Oh, goodness! This is ridiculously love *heart eyes* I absolutely LOVE the imagery, and I think my favourite line would have to be “there is a monster in my ribcage”. I love ribcages (which sounds weird but just roll with it XD), and it just sounds really quite lovely and sad all at the same time.

    I also love how you’ve broken up the paragraphs and used spacing and caps. This was so lovely to read, dear! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Oh my gosh I’m so glad you like it! I love ribcages too (and I’ve had to keep checking subsequent poems for that word because it seems I like it a little too much :P). Metamorphosis was actually one of those poems born during an hour on a rainy day, spent experimenting and attempting to be creative. Thank you for stopping by, Chiara! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

