beautiful people // writerly resolutions & goals

beautiful people

Beautiful People is a writing link-up hosted by Sky and Cait and it’s designed to help writers get to know their characters. But this month, I’ll be participating in a special edition of Beautiful People where we discuss our goals and resolutions for 2016. 

I’ve sort of answered some of the questions below in an “#amwritingpost and a writing goals of 2016 post so feel free to check those out if you want more details. 

Q&A

What were your writing achievements last year?

I’m not sure if this counts as an achievement but I made a writing blog and poetry was published by literary magazinesI also wrote 21.5K words during and after NaNoWriMo. I joined 3 writing networks on tumblr and consequently, met a lot of other talented young writers. 

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?

I want to say that my top priority writing project is Vivid but I’m no longer sure about that. I’m also considering putting together a poetry chapbook and submitting to some small presses but if I were to do so, it would only take a couple of months. I’m also writing short stories and trying to get more poetry published. Basically, I am dabbling in everything and as a result, I have no clue what my top priority writing project is.

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.

  1. FINISHING WRITING PROJECTS. I know I keep ranting about this but this is an area I want to improve on! (Speaking of finished projects, I made a poetry collection! 🙂
  2. Stop procrastinating and just tackle projects I’m super nervous about..if they don’t turn out well, I can always hide them away forever. 
  3. Don’t stress too much about perfect first drafts..just write a shitty one so I can tell everyone I FINALLY FINISHED SOMETHING. 😀
  4. Write more poetry! 
  5. Stop worrying about my writing style! I kept trying to change my writing style last year because I wasn’t sure it was good or interesting enough..but I think I may have figured it out now (or I’m just fooling myself!). 

Basically, I just want to write!

Are you participating in any writing challenges?

I am participating in 3 writing challenges! I’ll be doing 52 writings which involves writing (and possibly posting) a poem every Sunday so that I have 52 poems by the end of the year. I’m hoping to have written a lot more than 52 poems (I can put together more collections then!) but if I get writer’s block, this will force me to write something. I’m also going to be posting a poem every month so that at the end of the year, I’ll have 12 poems to put things in perspective. Everything I write for both of these challenges, will be posted on my poetry blog. I’m also going to do NaNoWriMo if I have time. 

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?

I don’t have any beta readers or critique partners but if I finish Vivid and am satisfied with it, I think I know some people who I could reach out to. 

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research

Nope! I’ll be googling anything I need to know. 

Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?

Radha from Vivid. I’ll be doing some research so I can better understand what she is going through. 

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?

As I said earlier, I’ll be rewriting the unfinished first draft of Vivid. I’m planning on using what I already wrote for the second half of  Vivid so I need to outline and then write the first half. I had a lot of angsty drama going on in the first draft that I, now, think I should just get rid of. Also, before I start rewriting, I’ll be doing a ton of research!

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”  What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?

I want to see more books with LGBTQIA+ and disabled/mentally ill character who are also POC. I just want to see more diversity (and possibly some Indian protagonists 😉 in YA novels. We need books to address important issues (ie. sexual assault, ethnic violence, etc.) because those kinds of books do make a difference in the lives of people who read them.

What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016?

I want to have:

  • successfully completed the 52 writings & “poem every month” writing challenges
  • get published in more literary magazines/journals
  • write 20 short stories + get 3 short stories published! 
  • put together a chapbook of 30- 50 poems + submit to some small presses
  • submit to writing contests (ie. adroit prizes)
  • make a little short story collection (magical realism!!) + post on tablo & wattpad
  • finish vivid + send to beta readers

I know that’s a lot but I’m very very excited! 

What do you have planned for 2016? Also, where did you find your beta reader or critique partner (I’m curious!)? And what’s your top priority writing project??

11 thoughts on “beautiful people // writerly resolutions & goals

    • Rachana says:

      Thanks Jeann! Well you know what they say about the best-laid plans… 😉 I like setting goals but at this point, I’m not entirely sure whether I’ll be able to accomplish most of them or if I’ll just end up with a whole new set of goals by the end of the year. *sighs* You and me both!

      Like

  1. Appletaile says:

    It was great to read your goals! I wish I could join some Tumblr writing groups, but…I haven’t written any poetry in months. *sighs at self for procrastinating* Good luck with yours, though! Diversity is always a wonderful thing to see in books as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Danni Mae says:

    Congrats on figuring out your writing style! I’m having a little trouble figuring out what to do with mine. I feel like my style is a bit lighter and (maybe??) slightly funny, but I like to write dramatic and sad things sooo… yea. So happy SOME people have it figured out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you <33 Ahaha yes I did have some poetry published last year but I'm more in love with the poems that are *going to be* published this year. Good luck with your goals too!

      Like

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ooh this is all EPIC. I love it!! And rewritings and editing is quite hard but so so worth it. I’m going to be rewriting a TON this year too!! And hopefully not falling prey to the thousands of plot bunnies that demand to be written. hehe. 😉 And congrats on having some of you poetry published! WOOT!
    Thanks for joining in the linkup!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      THANK YOU ❤ I'm so glad you think so 😀 Surprisingly enough I haven't had that many plot bunnies running around my brain (new year new me huh :P). The great thing about finding places to submit to last year is that I now have a nice long list of lit mags I can read. Thank you for hosting the link up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

