poetry | MATH CLASS or WEIGHTLESS

I’M TRYING NOT TO FALL ASLEEP –
MATH CLASS = boy with ink-black hair,
girl shaping poetry in her hands,
A class of students struggling to understand.
WHAT DOES THIS EVEN MEAN?
we are a mess of confusion & I fold in on myself,
trace a heart on a folding chair collapsed against the wall;
the internet tells me people are dying,
(THIS IS A DIGITAL AGE)
my heart aches, I hate sitting here crunching numbers.
the world is crashing & burning,
and i am lurching toward an unsteady future.
I didn’t think it would end like this,
blood splattered on the screen of my iPhone.
CAN WE MOVE ON NOW? PLEASE?
Our teacher is tired of discussing the same topic,
she looks exhausted, hair spilling down the small of her back.
I tell her I STILL DON’T UNDERSTAND &
the crescent moons beneath her eyes deepen –
she reminds me of my mother, hugging herself
in the dawn light, wiping the dust off a suitcase and
without meaning to, I am putting my arms around her,
asking if she is okay (I don’t remember her answer).
I wake up as class ends, the boy tells me I fell asleep
on the couch like he understands the weightlessness
I craved. He also says I got an A on the math test.

5 thoughts on “poetry | MATH CLASS or WEIGHTLESS

  1. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    Ah, this is ridiculously lovely! I was totally reminded of my painful years in maths class because ugh, I felt like I NEVER understood what was going on, no matter how many times we went over it. Thank goodness it is long behind me now.

    There are so many lines in this that I adore, but the making poetry with hands one would have to be my favourite. I absolutely love it, Rachana!

    There are so many themes in this piece, and I love pulling them all out. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you Chiara! I confess those my “painful” experience in math class *is* what partially inspired this poem. (Unfortunately I still have to suffer for two more years lol.). I was actually feeling kind of uncertain about this poem so it’s a relief to see your comment and hear your thoughts on the poem. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you! I’ve been feeling so stressed lately because I’m applying to various writing programs and I feel like I’m not talented enough to get in but seeing something like this definitely made me feel better. Thanks for stopping by ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

