new year’s resolutions for 2017

new year's resolutions for 2017.png

My goals don’t change a lot from year to year and while I did get some things done in 2016, I (once again!) didn’t accomplish as much as I wanted to. According to this post I wrote a year ago, I wanted to finish the first draft of Vivid, post something on Wattpad, and write a book for NaNo. The reality is that I had to ditch Vivid because I realized it was slightly problematic and I needed to do more research. I posted a few things on Wattpad and then unpublished them because they weren’t as good as I wanted them to be. I didn’t write a book for NaNoWriMo because I was busy writing poetry to submit to literary magazines and writing contests.

What Did I Do?

I finished the first draft of The Deadline and at 38,000 words, it’s the longest thing I’ve written so far. It’s a YA contemporary about a Indian girl who tries to write a book during the summer. The first draft definitely didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to – it’s basically a hot mess. But this is a book I’ve wanted to write for a few years now so I’m going to keep pursuing this idea. I absolutely love the characters in it and I want to further develop them. I also wrote four or five short stories and three (?) flash fiction pieces…some of which I deleted last week. But one of my mini goals, this year, is to edit old stories that have potential. I was published in fifteen literary magazines and a few other websites/collections curated by writer friends. (If you’re interested in reading my work, click here!) I also did an online mentorship (run by The Adroit Journal) and a one week creative writing course at NYU. I joined the staff of two literary magazines. Other things I did: self-published a mini poetry collection online, posted a bunch of poems on my tumblr blog, started a newsletter (and unfortunately discovered I couldn’t keep up with blogging and emailing subscribers), blogged about both bookish and writerly things here, and made an ‘official’ website. I also started outlining a book inspired by Hindu myths. 

Now for the resolutions..

1.Write, write, write.

More specifically:

  • Finish the writing projects that I start.
  • Write more short stories and flash fiction.
  • Write at least three times a week.
  • Keep track of my progress on different projects and plan out my time wisely.
  • Keep writing poetry.
  • Write a book! Edit a book!

I definitely need to rewrite The Deadline  (goal is 50,000 words!) and write the first draft of my Hindu myth book (goal is 80,000 words).

2. Be brave with my writing.

More specifically:

  • Submit my writing to more places.
  • Ask for feedback and apply it.
  • Tell IRL people about my writing.

3. Read more diverse books.

I want to continue to seek out diverse books and especially buy work from and support marginalized writers. I’ve also been thinking of joining reading challenges like #DiversityBingo2017 (which is explained in this tweet!).

4. Blog, blog, blog.

More specifically:

  • Review diverse books!
  • Blog at least once a month.
  • Do a few discussion posts.
  • Schedule posts before going on a random hiatus

5. Take care of myself.

More specifically:

  • Exercise more often.
  • Eat healthy
  • Get 8 hours of sleep.
  • Believe in myself.

It’s Tuesday evening and I’m ready determined to have an amazing year. Now, I’d love to hear from you guys! How did 2016 go for you? What are some goals you have for 2017? Are you excited? Nervous?

31 thoughts on “new year’s resolutions for 2017

  1. The Story Sponge says:

    Wow, those are some really fantastic goals! It sounds like you have done a lot already, and I hope you continue to reach your goals, (even if it’s not in the original time-frame you set for yourself!) I am rather cowardly and don’t often set goals for myself because what if I DON’T REACH THEM? That is silly of course and I am trying to overcome it. My main goal right now is to WRITE, whether what I write is good or bad- because failing is okay. I must drill this into my subcranium, (do sponges have subcraniums?? Help) if I want to get over my fear-of-imperfection-induced Writer’s Block. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you! No, no I totally understand. It’s one of the reasons why doing blog posts like this one can be daunting but what I realised is that as long as I start working toward the goal, I’m gotten further than I was yesterday! So even if you don’t reach your goals, that’s okay because I’m sure you’ve made some progress whether it’s small or big. Well I hope you can push past that fear and get all the writing done this year! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    It sounds like you achieved some pretty amazing things in 2016, Rachana! Even if you didn’t get around to some of the things you had intended to. I think lists like that can often serve as a guide rather than a “must do”, which makes it 100% more acceptable to not do everything.

    I love your goals of this year! I think they align somewhat with mine – not that I have written or thought of any specific things beyond write, read, blog, haha. I suppose the main thing that I REALLY want to happen in 2017 is to finally become an author, rather than a writer – getting that publishing deal. I want that most years, but here’s to hoping that this one will finally be THE ONE.

    I hope 2017 is awesome for you,lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you Chiara! And that’s an excellent point! I just love crossing things off lists though haha. Ooh yes that’s an awesome goal! Go go go! ❤ Well you're an amazing writer so I really hope you get that deal. Good luck! 🙂

      Like

  3. The Shenners says:

    Wow, it looks like you did a lot in 2016! The book based on Hindu myths sounds amazing I’d 100% read it if you published it. 🙂

    I finished NaNoWriMo in 2016 despite falling quite a bit behind in the middle, and I’m hoping to replicate that success this year. I had a 4-year period where I didn’t do NaNoWriMo, or write much at all, so it was encouraging to be able to get over my writer’s block/slump at last.

    I haven’t made any formal writing resolutions yet, but I would like to work more on editing my work, which is something I didn’t do as much in the past because I mostly wrote for myself without any intention of publishing it. Now that I’m thinking more seriously about publication I’ve been changing my approach to writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you! And wow it’s so cool that you finished NaNo! I’m not sure if I ever will write 50K words in a month (maybe that’s just not for me?) but I really admire those who can churn out words like that. And I’m so glad you were able to get over such a long writing slump. Hmm well it looks like I’ll be seeing your books on the shelves as well then! 😀 And that’s a great goal. Editing is so so painful for me but absolutely necessary. Good luck with everything!

      Like

  4. tasya @ the literary huntress says:

    Congratulations on everything you’ve done this year, they are amazing! Having courage about our writing is really hard, more often than not I can’t ask people to read it and ended up just keeping them to myself… I also want to read more diverse books this year!

    Happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thank you Tasya! I hope you find the courage to share your writing with more people too! ❤ And I hope you get to read lots of awesome diverse books this year! Happy new year to you too! 🙂

      Like

  5. srmilesauthor says:

    Congratulations on the first draft! Don’t worry. The first draft is always a mess. It doesn’t resemble something workable until it’s revised a few more times and skewered by your trusted beta readers. I’d love to know where you source places to publish your short fiction.

    I’m long winded so short fiction is always something I want to do, but never really commit to outside of flash fiction sprints.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thanks! On one hand, I know what you’re saying is true. But on the other, I just want my draft to be perfect (which is of course unrealistic). I’m still a relative newbie to writing short fiction so I haven’t been published anywhere yet but I’ve been keeping track of places where favorite writers have been published so I can maybe submit there someday. Sometimes my writing gets kind of long winded too but it’s something I’m working on so we’ll see haha.

      Like

  6. Esther says:

    I think maybe we should all take a slice of your cake! I am THE WORST at finishing drafts so go you! For me that is yhe hardest part! I’ve also had to get into the rhythm of scheduling posts because I never know when a random wave of anything might hit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      I’m terrible at finishing drafts too! *HIGH FIVE* That’s actually why I was so surprised when I finished that first draft last year. Yeah life sure has a habit of interfering with commitments like blogging. I should probably schedule posts more often but I tend to be a very spontaneous blogger. I like to write up posts randomly and publish them that very day.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Yay I love your goals!! Especially reading and writing more diversely. ❤ That is amazing and something I think we should all aspire too do. *nods* I think I calculated that 60% of the books I read last year were diverse, but I'd LOVE for that to be higher. And I'd love to read more books were diversity elements are in the main character instead of just the side characters.

    Also good luck with all the writing. 😀 I love the sound of your story! And honestly my first drafts are completely hot messes too. But they get better the more we beat them into shape. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Thanks haha. 😀 Diversity in literature is so important and as a writer, I want to keep learning and growing so I can better write characters who are different from me. And YES, we need more diverse main characters – totally agree with you on that. Ooh thanks, I’m glad you like my story idea. Well here’s to messy first drafts then haha. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

