MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG

Holland.jpg

Hey everyone! 

I noticed this book tag on two of my favorite blogs (more specifically: Happy Indulgence and Paper Fury) and decided to try it out myself! (Sidenote: This tag was created by Chami @ ReadLikeWildFire and Ely @ Ely Jayne.)

Hopefully it isn’t too late to join in haha. So without further ado, here are the questions and my answers!

BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017?

25322449.jpg

I have read 39 books in 2017 so far and I think the best book is probably Radio Silence by Alice Oseman. I didn’t expect to enjoy this book as much as I did but I absolutely loved the characters. It’s a very relatable book for someone like me who is very obsessed with academics and grades and also stresses about getting into college. 

BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017?

32075662.jpg

This is definitely Our Dark Duet. Victoria Schwab always slays me with her writing. Kate and August were as fabulous as ever. 

NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO?

Haha I can’t pick one. I HAVE SO MANY BOOKS I WANT TO READ OK…but here are some that are at the very top of my list. 

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF 2017?

Once again, I have too many to choose from so I’ve included four! I’ve already heard so many great things about these books on Twitter. 

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT?

28688476.jpg

Probably Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz. I had high expectations and..well..I wasn’t a huge fan of the writing style or the main character or the romance. I think it is an important book though because it’s #ownvoices and provides an accurate portrayal of the Asian immigrant experience. 

BIGGEST SURPRISE?

25707621

That would probably be Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik. This is probably the first Chick Lit or Women’s Fiction book I’ve ever read and I enjoyed it SO much. It’s hilarious and honest. I devoured the sequel immediately after finishing this book because I just couldn’t get enough of the characters!! 

FAVOURITE NEW AUTHOR?
21979832

Heidi Heilig!! I fell in love with The Girl From Everywhere series this year and this was also a bit of a surprise because I don’t usually read historical fiction.  

NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH?

Here are a few: Kashmir from The Girl From Everywhere, Rishi from When Dimple Met Rishi, Daniel from The Sun is also a Star, Kell from A Conjuring of Light, and Caius from The Girl at Midnight

NEWEST FAVOURITE CHARACTER?

Julian from Lady Midnight. He’s so fierce and brave and protective of his younger siblings! I also like how he can be ruthless and calculating depending on the situation. He’s not 100% good all the time.  

BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY?

6514

I read this book for class but I enjoyed it quite a lot (even though it’s a very dark book). 

BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY?

25165389

This book made me smile a lot while reading. It’s light and funny. Mim is still figuring things out and makes a lot of mistakes. I really empathized with her. I also loved all the descriptions of perfumes.

FAVOURITE BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION THAT YOU SAW THIS YEAR?

Not sure if this counts but I love the Shadowhunter TV series. It’s not accurate and the first season is a mess (and the second season isn’t amazing either) but for some reason, I really enjoyed watching it. Also Magnus and Alec are SO CUTE !!! 

FAVOURITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR?

This reminds me – I need to write more reviews this year!! I had massive plans to post a review once in two weeks but failed because..reviewing is hard and I fall into blogging slumps spontaneously. ANYWAYS, my favorite review this year is probably the one I wrote last week for Lady Midnight. 

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR?

3207566229939230

It’s either Our Dark Duet or A Conjuring of Light! And yes both of these books are by the same (AMAZING) author haha. 

WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

299390473009546428818313

I didn’t even ask myself this until I read this question..Hmm…My goal is to read some more diverse books by the end of the year but I already have ebook copies of A Crown of Wishes, The Bone Witch, and Iron Cast so I’m hoping to finish these books first. After that, I’ll be going through Goodreads and Twitter recommendations to decide my next read! 

How about you? What are some amazing books you’ve read this year? What books disappointed you? Do you have any recommendations for me? Oh and who are some of your fictional crushes? 

(Quick shameless plug: you can follow my blog via bloglovin here!)

6 thoughts on “MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Oooh so so many gorgeous books here and ALL THE SCHWAB APPRECIATION!! ACOL and ODD definitely are vying for my favourite sequel this year.😍😍 And I can’t wait to read They Both Die At The End and The Belles too!! SQUEEE. Also Kash is adorable. I just finished reading The Ship Beyond Time and YAY KASH. Those books are totally awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      I just love all of Schwab’s books haha. Omg YES KASH !! He’s the cutest. I’m so glad you enjoyed the second book in the series too!! Thank you for dropping by Cait! ❤

      Like

  2. The Story Sponge says:

    I have read a multitude of disappointing books this year, sadly, but there were a few books that I loved: A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness, Echo, by Pam Munoz Ryan, and The Book of Aron, by Jim Shepard. These books are very different from one another but equally unique and engrossing. (Actually The Book of Aron was hard to get into, but it ended up being really good).
    As for fictional character crushes, I recently reread A Series of Unfortunate Events, and I may or may not be a little bit smitten with Dewey Denouement…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Oh I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like so many of the books you read! I’ve heard of A Monster Calls and it sounds pretty great. I’ve been meaning to pick up another Patrick Ness book soon. Interesting haha. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie says:

    Ohh great answers! It makes me so happy to see Alice Oseman’s book on here – I think her book is falling a bit under the radar and it makes me sad. It is such a great book 🙂
    I’m also eagerly anticipating The Belles, I am WAY too impatient to read that one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

