beautiful people #26 ft. my writing process

beautiful people

HI EVERYONE!

Now that summer break has arrived, I finally have more time to blog and write. This year, I decided to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo for the first time ever. I’m usually traveling during July but this time I’m spending the summer at home so I decided to make some progress in writing my book. I have never won NaNoWriMo before although I have attempted it several times (and regretted it). Bad decisions were made people. Anyway, I checked Cait’s blog, Paper Fury, for the eighth time today and realized I should do Beautiful People!! I’ve intended to join in for awhile (ever since I did it back in 2016) but either forgot or didn’t have time. 

Q&A

How do you decide which project to work on?

I don’t?? I attempt to work on five projects at once and make zero progress?? Ok real talk: I prioritise projects based on interest and time (or deadlines!). I’m currently focusing on my Camp NaNo project because I want to finish a book by the end of the year. I decided to work on this book project because I’m in love with the idea, the characters are awesome, and I managed to successfully outline the book. If I can successfully flesh out an idea and I’m still passionate about it after a few months, I know it’s a project I want to work on. Unfortunately, interest often fizzles out or ideas don’t hold upon closer inspection.

Other ongoing things I write include poetry and short stories. Poems can take an hour or a week but if I’m excited about it, I will come back to it and keep working on it. When I’m deciding what short story to write, I usually consider upcoming deadlines and where I might submit it. Then, I try to pick the ideas with the most potential and if it doesn’t work out, I move on to the next thing. 

How long does it usually take you to finish a project?

This is my first time writing a full length novel but I estimate it will take me a few months of dedicated writing to finish the first draft. I try not to drag out projects because I’ll eventually lose interest and want to move on. It takes me a day or two to draft short stories or poems and then I’ll spend up to several weeks editing them. 

Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?

I like to listen to music. Right now, I’m obsessed with the soundtrack for Goblin (one of my favorite Kdramas!). I also spend up to an hour reading books or short fiction by authors I admire before I begin writing. I think consumption and creation go hand in hand.

What time of day do you write best?

I’ve noticed that I tend to get a lot more writing done in the evening and at night but that is mostly because I procrastinate in the morning and feel the pressure to be productive when the day has almost ended. But I’m trying to be flexible because I don’t think it matters what time of the day I write.

Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?

I’m not sure. Instead, I will tell you some authors whose writing style I absolutely love: Victoria Schwab, Renee Ahdieh, and Nina LaCour.

Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?

I started writing because I wanted to express myself. I keep writing because I hope that someday, people will read my stories and see themselves represented in them. 

What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?

Some poems I’ve written lately were very honest and raw and personal. I’m not sure whether I’ll eventually share them with the world but for now, they can hibernate in my drafts folder. 

Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet?

I don’t think I’m 100% ready to tackle any of the writing projects I begin working on. After all, I’m still learning how to plot and develop three dimensional characters and establish conflict. That said, I want to write a book based on Hindu myths and I don’t feel ready to tackle that yet. I’m worried I won’t do it justice. Last year, I brainstormed ideas, created some characters and wrote random scenes but stopped because it felt too ambitious. I hope to tackle it sometime next year after finishing editing my Camp NaNo project because I think I’ll be more prepared and “ready” to write the Hindu myth book then. 

What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?

I shared some writing goals in my new year’s resolutions for 2017 post and provided an update last month in an  #amwriting post! 

OK BUT TELL US YOUR GOALS.. My writing goals were basically to finish projects, write more short fiction, continue to write poetry, and to write a full length novel! I also wanted to write more often. I was hoping to rewrite The Deadline and draft the Hindu myth book. Another goal was to request feedback and submit writing. 

HOW HAVE YOU DONE SO FAR? I’ve done a better job of finishing short stories. I’m not satisfied with anything I’ve written so far though so I haven’t submitted them anywhere. I’m still writing poetry and getting it published. I ended up completely changing the plot and characters of The Deadline and the result is the book I’m drafting for Camp NaNo. Like I said, I think I’m going to hold off writing the Hindu myth book. 

Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif!

Tedious, frustrating, and painful. 

So tell me, how is your writing going? Are you participating in Camp NaNo? Did you achieve your writing goals for 2017? How has the year been so far? 

(Quick shameless plug: you can follow my blog via bloglovin here!)

6 thoughts on “beautiful people #26 ft. my writing process

    • Rachana says:

      Thanks Aila! Ah I’m glad you think it sounds like a good idea haha. I’m worried I won’t do it justice. Your support means a lot though. I hope you get to read lots of awesome books this month too! ❤

      Like

  1. The Story Sponge says:

    Gah! I love Beautiful People!
    I really like what you said about why you write. Ultimately as writers we want to portray humanity. We want to express ourselves and connect with people. I relate to this so much.
    Good luck with Camp NaNo! I tried to do it once and failed utterly. Maybe sometime I should try it again. Right now I am actually working on the novel that I was trying to do for Camp NaNo all those years ago.
    Good work, and keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Ah it’s nice to know you related. Haha I’m sure everyone has failed at least once. But it’s great that you still continued to work on the novel even though you couldn’t finish it over Camp NaNo! I think that’s what matters most –continuing to write! Good luck with all your writing endeavours!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shanti says:

    I’m not officially doing Camp Nano Wrimo but I am trying to finish a novel by the endo f July so I guess I am? I’m at 47000 words as of right now. I haven’t achieved my writing goals exactly, but I’m on my way and I have lots of ideas. I’m particularly proud of some of the short stories and poetry I’ve written this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      Oh I know what you mean! I originally wasn’t planning on doing WriMo either but I started writing a book this month too and realized I may as well try! Wow it’s amazing that you’ve already written 47,000 words! Ah I’m glad to hear that. I think progress is what matters most so as long as you’re doing *something,* you have every right to be proud! Keep going! I hope I’ll get to read your book someday.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

