Book Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

13576132

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Release Date: June 10th 2014

Genre: Sci-Fi > Dystopia, Thriller, YA

Rating: 3.5 stars

Goodreads Blurb:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

My Review

The Murder Complex is a fairly original dystopian read with a great premise. But while the premise seemed air-tight the book still turned out to have many flaws (some of which really frustrated me). Zephyr’s relationship with Meadow, for example. He is in love with her before they even meet (apparently he dreams about her?!). So he spends a majority of the book acting like a lovesick idiot who then gets his ass kicked multiple times before he finally figures out how to fight…and then he’s all like “Yay! I can protect her now!”

I felt like there is a lack of character development. We don’t get to see the characters’ imperfections and both characters even think the other character is beautiful. Beauty seems pretty irrelevant – especially considering how there are dead bodies everywhere and murderers on the loose..but beauty is emphasized – especially when we see Meadow through Zephyr’s perspective. The characters themselves are interesting but it didn’t seem like they would be that way without the other because their interactions are often the focus of the story.

BUT I think the POV switch is pulled off pretty well. I liked getting into the heads of both of the main characters, especially because it helped increase the tension. It was one of the reasons I would keep reading two more chapters. The cliffhangers made me want to know what was going to happen next.

That doesn’t mean I empathized with Meadow or Zephyr..and when the giant plot twist finally rolled around, I didn’t even sympathize with Meadow. I was more like okay, what happens next? The author failed to make me care about the characters but she did hook me and I’ll probably try the next book.

ARC Review: Inherit The Stars by Tessa Elwood

25463009

Publisher: Running Press Kids

Release Date: December 8th 2015

Genre: Sci-Fi, YA

Rating: 4 stars

Goodreads Blurb:

Three royal houses ruling three interplanetary systems are on the brink of collapse, and they must either ally together or tear each other apart in order for their people to survive.

Asa is the youngest daughter of the house of Fane, which has been fighting a devastating food and energy crisis for far too long. She thinks she can save her family’s livelihood by posing as her oldest sister in an arranged marriage with Eagle, the heir to the throne of the house of Westlet. The appearance of her mother, a traitor who defected to the house of Galton, adds fuel to the fire, while Asa also tries to save her sister Wren’s life . . . possibly from the hands of their own father.

But as Asa and Eagle forge a genuine bond, will secrets from the past and the urgent needs of their people in the present keep them divided?

Author Tessa Elwood’s debut series is an epic romance at heart, set against a mine field of political machinations, space adventure, and deep-seeded family loyalties.

My Review

Disclaimer: This book was provided by Running Press Kids via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

The book starts off with Asa and Wren on a jet and Asa is desperate to get her sister to safety. They’re on a quarantined planet and Asa is worried her sister will die because she removed a chip which is supposed to keep her alive. From there the book only gets better!

The book is fast-paced and brimming with politics and conflict. The world-building is great considering how complex the world is. The plot could have been simplified a bit because it wasn’t always easy to keep track of what was happening but in the end, I was never bored.

In terms of characters, this book didn’t disappoint me too much. At first I found Asa frustrating because she behaved like a child. She made bad decisions but didn’t know how to handle the consequences. I just wanted to give her a shake and remind her that even though she wasn’t starving, other people WERE! However, her character grew a lot in the course of the book and I was honestly impressed. I also liked how she didn’t recoil from Eagler (her husband) because he’s scarred.

Asa’s sister, Emmeline, on the other hand, was pretty awful. At first she kept acting condescending and only seemed to care about herself. (I was shocked by how cold-heartedly she reacts when their father suggests unplugging Wren (her sister who is in a coma).) It was unrealistic and unnatural how put together she behaved. But then she made a truly idiotic decision that almost ruins everything! 

But the rest of the characters weren’t that well developed. There are so many minor characters but we don’t get to know most of them that well. I wanted to know them but I barely understood them.

This book did keep me on my toes, though, always anticipating what would happen next. Most of the time the book wouldn’t disappoint and there were some good plot twists thrown in too…which is why I recommend it if you’re looking for a new dystopian/sci-fi to read.