Beautiful Books #2 // My Writing Process

I know I’ve been pretty quiet in terms of all things blogging-related and it’s mainly because NANOWRIMO has me exhausted…and at this point, I feel like I don’t have the energy to blog and write. Of-course I’m still posting updates and the like on ello and my tumblr blog but that’s about it. I’ve written 18K words so far but I’m falling behind because I haven’t been writing daily.

Oh and Beautiful Books is a writing link-up that focuses on your NaNoWriMo novel or another WIP you would prefer to talk about. 

beautiful books

Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

Vivid is turning out..more-or-less.. how I expected it to but I did end up writing in some plot twists, I didn’t initially brainstorm or plan on using. This book has defied my expectations in that I actually managed to write a sizeable chunk of it in the last two weeks but I don’t feel like I’ve run out of ideas or I want to give up on it. I think I’m just ‘creatively exhausted (I really don’t know if that’s a “thing”) at the moment. 

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Ice cold fingers, quickening pulse, I taste blood on her lips. Sarah’s face haunts my dreams, eyes bleeding gold, swimming in and out of existence. I bolt upright in bed, reaching for my journal.

Are you a plotter or a pantser? Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

I like to think I’ve been using both methods so far because while I have a general outline of what will happen in the chapter, I like to go where the characters take me. I might have decided that I definitely need to have a make-out scene in this chapter…but then the characters will decide that they want to go shopping instead and so I just post-pone whatever I had planned to a later chapter. In the end, I am more plotter than panster because even though I try to stay flexible, I would never have done NaNoWriMo without a basic outline for my novel. That would just stress me out too much. 

What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

My reward is getting to tell people that I met said goal. And to me, the fact thatmet the goal is something pretty amazing in itself. I’m at that stage where I still get surprised that I WROTE SOMETHING.

What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

I like to figure out a character’s ethnicity first. For example, a lot of the characters in Vivid are Chinese because it’s set in Hong Kong so armed with that knowledge, I search for a name. I don’t have themes (I only accidentally find out the meanings of names I intend to use). Sometimes there’s a name I’ve wanted to use for a while now – Radha was one of those names or I borrow names from people I knowBut the characters are never similar to their real life counterparts (I just happen to like that person’s name!). Sometimes I have to visit those websites that are supposed to help you name your child but these days, I prefer to just go with whatever pops into my head first. 

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

I’ve never written the ending of an novel but I think I like writing beginnings the best. Beginnings feel very magical and exciting to me, while by the time I’ve gotten to the middle, all the excitement has worn off and I just want to hurry up and finish this awful first draft. 

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

I really like my main character but apart from her, I love her best friend: Damien Rees…He’s a warlock. Damien is my current favorite character because he’s always there for Radha and I am enjoying exploring the ups and downs of their friendship. 

What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching? (What’s the weirdest thing you’ve researched?!)

I researched chromesthesia which is sound-to-color synesthesia – my MC’s sister is an associator which means that she would hear a sound and think very strongly that it sounds like a certain color. I also researched depression and anxiety. I go about researching by copy-pasting website links and relevant information into a word document and then if I need to use that information, I’ll paraphrase it in my novel. (So far, I haven’t researched anything super weird haha.)

Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

I write better alone. I just can’t focus when I’m around other people. I share my writing (even crummy first drafts) because it motivates me to write more (often) so that I’ll have something that’s worth sharing. 

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

First, I scroll through my pinterest board and brainstorm plot twists. Then I open up a word document and start typing. It’s not very complicated and I usually write when I most feel like it. I don’t listen to music or eat because I find music and food too distracting. My writing space is the desk in my bedroom.

Be my writing buddy! | Check out the pinterest board for Vivid

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #2 // My Writing Process

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ohhhh this sounds like SUCH a cool book. And set in Hong Kong too?! THAT IS AWESOME GO YOU. I’m pretty much an intense plotter. I find I can write really fast w hen I plot in detail because I know what’s coming…and I don’t have to sit paralysed with writers block at any point. XD But I do try and let my characters wander off if they want to. 😉 Juuuust not too far. haha.
    Thanks for joining in the linkup and I hope you finish this novel!! HUZZAH!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rachana says:

      THANK YOU! At the moment, Hong Kong is the setting of both my WIPs 😛 There’s just something about this place… Thanks for hosting this fab linkup! I definitely want to finish this novel but who knows when… (Still in awe of the fact that you wrote a book in 4 days! You are an inspiration tbh).

      Like

Leave a Reply

